CINDER BY MARISSA MEYER |BOOK REVIEW

Summary: Even in the future, the story begins with Once Upon A Time. Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars, and I absolutely loved it. Also, this wasn’t my first time picking this book up. I tried reading this book a couple of years back, when Scarlet first came out, but only got in a 100+ pages before I put it down, because I couldn’t get into the story. I was a little hesitant going into it this time, as I found out that this was sci-fi, had to do with space, cyborgs and stuff like that. Not really my thing. But, as I went on reading it, I found myself really enjoying it, but I do have to say, it’s not very easy to get into.

The turn the story took wasn’t how I expected it to go, although I’m excited to see how it turns out in the following books. Another thing was I constantly kept comparing Kai, the male protagonist, to Maxon from The Selection. Somehow, I find their situations and personalities quite similar, although I do have to say, I prefer Kai much more.


spoilers from here onward!!

Iko’s “death” hit me right in the feels. It was the only point in the book where I really cried. Somehow, you just get super attached to Iko and I do hope that Cinder finds a body for Iko.

For some reason, I didn’t believe that Peony was dead, like for real. I thought that she would be revived. And it took me quite a while until I really thought of her as dead. Also, the book said that Chang Sunto was interviewed and I wondered why he never revealed that he was actually given an antidote, or why Dr. Erland never confronted Cinder about it.

The ending also left me quite confused, and I’m still not quite sure as to what happened between Cinder and Kai. Did she unknowingly use her glamour on him? Or maybe during certain incidents, like the time in the elevator? Or not at all?

I know that some people actually already knew that Cinder was Princess Selena, but that thought never even occurred to me at all. I do have a theory that the girl Cinder was speaking to before the ball through the D-Comm chip could probably be Cress.

I’m still quite confused over the ID Chip system thing, about how it works. When do you actually get the chip inserted in you? Like when you’re born and stuff? I still don’t actually see the use of this, except when you’re trying to track someone down. I don’t get why they have to extract those chips from people who have died. Because if they’re selling it to someone else for them to assume a brand new identity, won’t that be like helping criminals?

That’s all for my thoughts and feelings on Cinder. Hope do to a book review for Scarlet as soon as I finish it! x

2 thoughts on “CINDER BY MARISSA MEYER |BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

