FALLING KINGDOMS BY MORGAN RHODES

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

Rating: 4/5 stars

This book was certainly nothing like I expected it to be. I had to admit though, it’s not easy getting into this book and there are just so many characters you need to know and I don’t think it’s a good idea to go into this not knowing much or nothing at all as it is going to be quite confusing for you. I definitely do not recommend it.

The first 100 pages or so of the book weren’t that enjoyable for me, particularly because I was having a difficult time adjusting to the world and trying to understand it’s workings and what not. But the next 3/4 or so of the book completely made up for it. I have to say though, some of the characters I just really dislike.

Overall, the world was built really well and had a strong plot and story line, a great cast of characters. I loved how all of their stories somehow still managed to intertwine with each other although they were all so very different. I wished we had seen more of the Watchers though. By the end of the book, we still don’t know much about them and they’re still all mysterious and stuff like that, and I hope we do get more of them in the following books.


SPOILERS FROM NOW ON

So many deaths! I can’t possibly even imagine how many more people are going to get killed off in the rest of the books in the series. Tobias’s death was a little too quick though. One moment he was alive and the next, he was not. A little too sudden for me.

Also, I still can’t really believe that the Chief of Paelsia actually believed the King of Limeros in that alliance thing against Auranos. I believed for quite sometime that the Chief was actually plotting something against the Limerian King, because that just seems so unbelievable somehow, and that was a main part of the book I didn’t enjoy.

My favorite character definitely has to be Magnus. I feel so sad for him :(( I totally ship Magnus and Lucia. (I don’t really know what’s their ship name, so I just created one: #Macia) It technically isn’t incest, because they’re not related by blood though…so there’s still hope. Also, hopefully, in the next book, we’ll see Magnus aligning himself up together with Cleo and Jonas and possibly Lucia to overthrow his father.

My least favorite character would have to be Cleo. I just disliked her and I felt her relationship with that guard, I forgot what his name was, was a little unnatural. Also, she acted like a spoiled kid and seems like the kind of person who wants to get whatever she wants. And of course, how could we forget Aron. Urgh, he was just the most annoying character ever. However, by the end of the book, she seems to have become more sensible, but at the cost of her family’s life. At this time, I’m simply assuming Aron is dead since he was not mentioned after that little encounter.

Jonas is someone I have very mixed feelings about. I hope we get to see more of him as well in the following books, mainly because he got really few pages, considering he is one of the main characters. I understand his need for revenge after Aron killed his brother, but he was a little impulsive and acted without much thinking.

One thought on “FALLING KINGDOMS BY MORGAN RHODES

Leave a Reply

