THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

Synopsis: In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

Rating: 4/5 stars

One thing I have to say is that it’s definitely not easy getting into it, and I tried reading it once, and got to about less than halfway through, before DNF-ing it. The reason why I decided to pick it up was because I really wanted to read a Sarah J. Maas book by the end of the year. Also, I have to say, it only really gets interesting after 200 pages or so.

Also, I was not a huge fan of Celaena at first, and I can’t say that I like her now, I just don’t hate her that much. She turned out to be a little whiny and not as badass as I expected, after hearing so much from everyone else.


Spoilers from here onward

We didn’t really get to know a lot about Chaol in this book and Dorian had a lot more scenes with Celaena than compared to Chaol, so I understand why a lot of people are Team Dorian, but I’m Team Chaol all the way.

Somehow, while reading this, I was reminded of HeronGrayStairs [Tessa, Will and Jem] from The Infernal Devices. Tessa and Will love reading, and Dorian lends books to Celaena. Also, Dorian and Chaol are somewhat like parabatai, like Jem and Will. Also, Dorian’s more outgoing and arrogant, like Will and Chaol’s more reserved and quiet, like Jem.

I do hope we get to find out more about Chaol in the following books, because as of now, we know very little about him.

On to the king and Perrington. I think they were controlling Cain this whole time, and Cain was not aware of what he was doing, because they all had the black ring on their fingers.

Also, what I found a little weird was the headaches with Kaltain. I was wondering if it was due to the opium or the “magic” that the duke was using, that caused the headaches.

Another thing was that I had never suspected Cain at all, until we saw him running away from Celaena, that scene, before Celaena told Nox and Pelor to stay in their rooms, I suspected that Cain was being controlled by Perrington. Hopefully, we get to find out what happened to those soldiers after the king came back from that trip to the White Fang Mountains.\

I had this theory after we found out the king was using magic that he had used all the soldiers for sacrifice to strengthen his abilities or to summon some demon. I never really trusted Nehemia, because of her reaction when she saw those Wyrdmarks and that scene in the library.

Also, what was that mark on Celaena’s forehead? Was it some kind of mark the Fae used? I’m pretty sure that Elena and Celaena are somehow related, because in that dream scene, Elena said “Blood ties can’t be broken” and we know that Elena was part Fae. I also suspect that the reason Celaena’s parents were killed was due to some magic or Wyrdmark thing as they might be part Fae as well.

That is all for this book review, hopefully I get my hands on Crown of Midnight soon, as I’ve heard that it’s a lot of people’s favorite book in the series.

One thought on “THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

  1. literary constellation says:

    Hi! I’m not sure how this works (I’m sorry, I’m still learning stuff because I only just started blogging a week ago lol), but I tagged you guys for the Liebster and Siblinghood award: https://literaryconstellation.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/blogger-awards-liebster-and-siblinghood-2/

    I’m not sure if you had to be following back for me to nominate you, and if you already did this, feel free to disregard! I just thought I’d let you know in case you didn’t see, because I’m not sure if it lets you know when you’re linked or something? I don’t know yet how that works so forgive me lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

