Cress by Marissa Meyer

title: cress
author: marissa meyer
rating: 5/5 stars
synopsis [from goodreads]:

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker; unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

warning: this review contains spoilers from cress

If you have not yet read Cress, you can click here to go to my review of Scarlet


Immediately after finishing Cress, I knew that I needed Winter right now, and that this is by far my favorite book in the series.

And also, Iko got a body!! It was sad that it got destroyed pretty quickly though. I was glad that we got her POV in this book and she was just so badass. Oh gosh, I just love Iko so much.

Relationships wise, I felt that Scarlet and Wolf’s relationship didn’t get much development except at the end of Scarlet and a little at the beginning of Cress. I’m so delighted that Kai and Cinder are finally reunited after so long. Still, I don’t think there’s a lot of chemistry between them, as even from their POV we still don’t get much of their feelings toward each other. On the other hand, Cress and Thorne are just so adorable and cute!! I hope that their relationship will continue to grow in the next book Winter.

Although, we didn’t get to see much of Scarlet in this book, due to her capture, what we did see was rather interesting. During her stay in Luna, Winter is introduced and she seems completely crazy. To be honest, she creeped me out quite a lot. You can see that she has good intentions, but seems to have gone mad from not using her gifts for so long. I hope that Winter will help Scarlet through what she goes through in Luna and they slowly become friends.

I thought that this book had way more action than the other 2 and I really liked that. The part where they all infiltrated the palace to stop the wedding was so fast paced, action packed and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it.

Now to Jacin, who we actually got briefly introduced to in Cinder, during the ballroom scene. He struck me as pretty suspicious, especially after the battle on the podship. At first, I thought he might have been a spy sent to gain Cinder’s trust and find out more about her. Also, when Cinder started talking about the invention made by her stepfather, he seemed to have gained some interest in it. I think he might actually want to use that to help Winter, so she won’t go crazy. Overall, I thought he was a pretty useless character. All he did was just fly that spaceship. I do think that he might be on Cinder’s side though, so that’s a good thing.

I hope that Thorne will be able to regain his eyesight, as now, he’s the only reliable pilot in the entire spaceship, with Scarlet being kidnapped. I also hope that Kai will actually be of some help in the war, if not he’ll be just a burden to them, considering he can’t really do much. I think Winter will be the one to sneak them into Luna, or maybe Cress, with her superb hacking skills. Now, we’ll finally be paying a visit to Luna, after talking about it for so long, I am excited to see what awaits us there. From what we saw of Luna from Scarlet’s POV, with all the colorful wigs, I got a Capitol, from the Hunger Games, kind of feel.

Get your copy of Cress here:

Amazon

Book Depository [free shipping]

2 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

